Click on titles to show or hide content
Prices & Opening Times
Free for all visitors
Basilica: 6.30am – 10.30pm (every day)
Dome: 10.30am – 8.30pm (every day)
7 am, 11 am, 6.30 pm, 10 pm (Mon-Fri)
3 pm (Fri)
7 am, 11 am, 10 pm (Sat)
7 am, 11 am, 6 pm, 10 pm (Sun)
How to get there
Esplanade of the Basilica
Anvers (2) + Cable car* or steps
Abbesses (12) + Cable car* or steps
*Cable car (métro ticket)
30, 31, 80, 85 (Anvers Sacré-Coeur bus stop at foot of Montmartre)
“Le Petit Train de Montmartre tourist train”
Eat & Drink nearby
475 – In writings about the life of Saint Genevieve, it is mentioned that she convinced the people of Paris to build a chapel on the site where Saint Denis was martyred.
9th century – The original chapel built on the hill in honor of Saint Denis fell into ruin.
1559 – A fire destroyed a large part of the abbey of the Benedictines of Montmartre.
1611 – Discovery of an ancient crypt said to have been sanctified by Saint Denis.
1794 – The last Abbess, Marie-Louise de Montmorency-Laval, was executed on July 24, 1794.
1870 – War broke out between France and Germany.
1872 – Approval of the Vow by Cardinal Guibert, Archbishop of Paris.
1875 – The first stone is laid, and construction of the basilica begins.
1885 (August 1st) – Perpetual adoration of the Eucharist begins and continues to this day.
1891 (June 5) – Inauguration of the Basilica (the dome is yet to be built).
1895 – The famous bell “Savoyarde,” weighing 19 tonnes and cast in Annecy, is donated to the Basilica of the Sacré-Cœur by Savoy.
1912 – The campanile is completed, and the lanternon cross is installed.
1919 – Consecration of the Basilica and dedicated to the Sacred Heart (originally scheduled for October 17, 1914, but suspended due to World War I).
1923 – Inauguration of the mosaic of Christ in Glory, decorating the apse of the Basilica.
1944 (Night of April 20-21) – The stained-glass windows of the Basilica are blown out by bombing, but the perpetual adoration wasn’t interrupted.
We may earn a commission from affiliate links