National Pantheon

Updated on

Basic info

Type of attraction


Portuguese name

Panteão Nacional


Campo de Santa Clara, 1100-471 Lisboa

Website (portuguese)
+351 218 854 820

Tab 2 content.

Tab 2 content.

How to visit


Adult: 8,00 €
Young (13 to 24): 4,00 €
Senior (65 and over): 4,00 €
Children (12 and under): Free

Family Ticket*: 4,00€ (per person)

*Mininum: 1 Adult + 1 Young (aged 13 to 24)

Free access
  • Children (aged 12 and under)
  • Unemployed
Opening times

October to March
Tuesday – Sunday: 10 am – 5 pm

April to September
Tuesday – Sunday: 10 am – 6 pm

Last admission: 20 min before closing time.

Closing days

Jan 1, Easter Sunday, May 1, Jun 13, Dec 25


Campo de Santa Clara, 1100-471 Lisboa

Public transports

Blue line > Santa Apolónia station

Santa Apolónia Railway Station
+ 7 min walk or Bus 734

734, 797 > Campo Sta. Clara (Stop)

10 B, 13 B > Panteão Nacional (Stop)

More details

  • Dome: a huge double dome concrete structure, covered in limestone.
  • Cenotaphs of notable Portuguese: such as Henry the Navigator, Vasco da Gama, Afonso de Albuquerque, Luís de Camões, Almeida Garrett and Amália Rodrigues.
  • Statues: those on the main facade were created by António Duarte (such as St. Engrácia and St. Isabel). Those inside the temple were crafted by Leopoldo de Almeida.
  • Architectural features: wavy walls; Solomonic columns; crafted pulpit.
  • Pavement of the nave: marble floor with colorful patterns.
  • Pipe organ: on the main altar stands a valuable pipe organ from the 18th century.
  • Terrace: it is possible to ascend to the dome terrace and enjoy an enviable panoramic view of the city.

16th century – Princess Mary (daughter of King Manuel I) promotes the contruction of a church in honor of St. Engrácia of Zaragoza. The project is entrusted to Nicolau de Frias.

1630 – Simon Solis, a New Christian who was seen near the temple, is accused of stealing the consecrated hosts stored in the tabernacle. Despite his vows of innocence, he is sentenced to death.

1630s – The Brotherhood of Slaves of the Blessed Sacrament is created, committed to repairing the desecration.

1681 – The original church collapses during a storm.

1682-1966 – Construction of the new Baroque monument. Initial project by João Antunes. The delay in its completion coined the expression “Sta. Engrácia’s works”, used in situations where construction drags on indefinitely.

1834 – Religious orders are abolished. The unfinished Santa Engrácia Church is adapted to barracks by the Army. It will later function as an armament factory.

1896 – In one of his writings, Ramalho Ortigão proposes the ideia of transforming the church into a national pantheon.

1916 – The official resolution is reached to convert it into the National Pantheon.

1939 – A military shoe factory still operates in the church.

1956 – Project by Luís Amoroso Lopes to complete the Church of Sta. Engrácia.

1966 – Inauguration of the National Pantheon.

the surroundings

  • St. Vicente de Fora Monastery (500 m)
  • Fado Museum (600 m)
  • St. Jorge Castle (1,1 km)
  • Lisbon Cathedral (1,3 km)
  • St. Anthony Church (1,3 km)
  • Church & Museum of São Roque (2,1 km)
  • Faz Figura (150 m)
  • A Parreirinha do Paraíso (170 m)
  • Açores na Feira (200 m)
  • Copenhagen Coffee Lab (210 m)
  • Tabernita (260 m)